VSNU - EUA Conference on Recognition & Rewards


There is a growing movement to review the recognition and rewards systems for academics in Europe, notably in the transition to Open Science. Since research is global, the European University Association (EUA) and the Association of Universities in the Netherlands (VSNU) are joining forces and would like to welcome you to an international conference on 15 November 2019 in Rotterdam. The event is hosted in collaboration with the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science.


An opportunity to stimulate our transition

EUA is committed to raising awareness and supporting institutions in revisiting their approaches to recognising and rewarding academics. Specifically, the Association supports the development of research assessment approaches that focus on research quality, potential and future impact, and that take into account Open Science practices (see the EUA Roadmap with priority actions and the EUA Briefing with reflections on key concepts, issues and actors).


The Netherlands have a strong ambition to make a transition in the recognition and rewards systems for academics. Universities and university medical centres are working on redefining existing frameworks for the recognition and reward of academics. Similar renewals, with a specific focus on research assessment, are happening at research institutes and research funding bodies (see the VSNU, NWO, NFU and ZonMw statement on the change in recognition and rewards systems for academics)
Participating in the conference will give you an opportunity to to share views and practices on the recognition and rewards of academics and to explore how European universities and partners can collaborate to stimulate this transition.




Date: 15 November 2019
Time: 10 am. – 5 pm.
Location: Maassilo, Maashaven Zuidzijde 1-2, 3081 AE Rotterdam, The Netherlands



Registration for the conference has been closed because we have reached the maximum number of registrations for the event. Thank you for your interest!



10.00 h
Walk-in coffee/tea


10.30 h
Welcome by Rianne Letschert (rector Maastricht University) and Frank Baaijens (rector Eindhoven University of Technology) 


10.45 h
Presentation by Bregt Saenen (EUA)
“Improving university research assessment in a changing research and innovation landscape”


11.00 h
Keynote by Rik Van de Walle (rector Ghent University) 
“The Ghent Model. A new career and evaluation model for professorial staff @Ghent University” 


11.30 h
Keynote by Dilly Fung (Pro-Director Education at the London School of Economics and Political Science)

“Excellent education in research-rich universities” 


12.00 h
Panel discussion

- Michael Murphy (President EUA) 
- Mangala Srinivas (President Young Academy of Europe) 
- Ruth Graham (Consultancy in Higher Education) 
- Jeroen Geurts (President ZonMw)

12.45 h


13.45 h
Inspiration sessions about best practices on recognition & rewards in education, impact, research and leadership. In each session examples of both policy and the implementation strategy are addressed.


1. Education: Ruth Graham (Consultancy in Higher Education) & Martin Björklund (University of Helsinki) 

2. Societal impact/knowledge exchange: Frank van Vree (University of Amsterdam) and Tim Bedford (University of Strathclyde)

3. Research: Sarah de Rijcke (Leiden University), Frank Miedema (UMC Utrecht) & Rinze Benedictus (UMC Utrecht)

4. Leadership: Harry Garretsen (University of Groningen) and Rianne Letschert (Maastricht University) 


15.30 h


16.00 h
Plenary closing

  • Final remarks by Michael Murphy (president EUA), Pieter Duisenberg (president VSNU) and Koen Vermeir (Co-Chair Global Young Academy)
  • Speech by Ingrid van Engelshoven (Minister of Education, Culture and Science)
  • Position paper: Pieter Duisenberg (VSNU), Jeroen Geurts (The Netherlands Organisation for Health Research and Development, ZonMw), Stan Gielen (Dutch Research Council, NWO), Marian Joëls (The Netherlands Federation of University Medical Centres, NFU) and Wim van Saarloos (The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, KNAW) offer position paper to Ingrid van Engelshoven and Michael Murphy.  


16.30 h