Agreements made for 2018 - 2020

The road to 2020

The Dutch government has put open science on the political agenda: first in 2013 at the national level and then in 2016 at the European level during the Netherlands' EU Presidency. In February 2017, the National Plan for Open Science – which implemented the European agreements in the Netherlands – was signed by ten parties, including KNAW, NWO/ZonMw and VSNU/UKB (UKB is the Dutch consortium of the thirteen university libraries and the National Library of the Netherlands). One of the key ambitions of the NPOS is 100% open-access publication by 2020, i.e. all scientific publications (articles, books, book excerpts, reports) funded with public money must be freely available for viewing or reuse by anyone in the world as from 2020.

As the driving force behind this key ambition, the VSNU/UKB must initiate collective policy and coordinate the main players in this field. Together with the main parties involved, agreements were made for 2018 - 2020 under the supervision of the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science. The coalition agreement states that open access and open science must become the norm for scientific research.

In the coming period, a fifth pillar – ‘alternative publication platforms’ – will be added to the original four pillars defined in the VSNU's previous strategic roadmap.

The five pillars of open access

(Click on the pillars for more information.)